Preparing for the Coming Year: 2014

I learn so much when I attend church. Each sermon I am able to apply to my life in some form or fashion.  As I sat and listened today I was continually reminded of what is to come in the year 2014.  I keep feeling a sense of urgency that this new year will be critical, difficult, inspiring, and joyous. I await it with anticipation each time the Spirit speaks to my soul while I continue to prepare for whatever may come my way.  winter

In today’s sermon I was presented with the question, “Are you prepared spiritually for the winter?” The winter is a time where the growth of plants and food needed for survival stop. They rest and then bring new buds, new fruit, new energy when the warmth arrives in the spring. I began to ponder, “Am I ready for a winter? Have I trusted God enough to trust Him through the dry spells, the down sides of life, the heartaches that may come my way?” Whatever may come will arrive whether I am ready or not.

In order to be ready for these times I must understand my weaknesses in order to prepare for those hard times ahead. Am I keeping myself accountable or hiding in my sin? Do I fellowship with my circle of friends who will support me when I am in need or am I isolating? Am I spending time praising God and praying for His guidance or am I acting on my own will and desires? These are my weaknesses. This is what I need to keep on my spiritual radar and work on continually.

Weakness3

So I ask you today, “Are you prepared spiritually for the winter? If not, what weaknesses do you need to understand about yourself to prepare for the coming year?”

One comment on “Preparing for the Coming Year: 2014

  1. The best way to prepare for the winter is by making sure my heart is a place that welcomes the Lord’s direction; sensitive to His voice. A heart that cares more about what it gives rather than what it receives, is a heart after the Lords heart indeed. And He, only He is all I need.

Leave a Reply

