You Meant it For Good

About one week ago I attended my usual Celebrate Recovery meeting but this night was different from all the other nights. 

On this night, March 4th, I gave my testimony.

I am so happy I finally made it to this point in my recovery. I didn’t think I would ever really be able to do it. It felt good to stand up there and proclaim the work that Christ has done in my life. I loved it! Since then, I have been asked a question from many people. Many want to know about a verse I quoted from Genesis. It was Genesis 50: 20.

good

“You intended to harm me, but God intended it for good to accomplish what is now being done, the saving of many lives.”

This verse is from the story of Joseph.

The brothers of Joseph thought evil against him. But God turned everything good for Joseph.

They hated him. They stripped his coat & put him in a pit.

They sold him as a slave for 20 pieces of silver to the Ishmeelites who in turn sold him to Potiphar,who was an officer of Pharaoh.

Joseph was brought to Egypt as a slave.
He was falsely accused.
He was unjustly punished.
He was imprisoned though he had done nothing wrong.

The chances of fulfillment of the dreams of Joseph looked very dim and it seemed a hopeless situation to him. But God was at work. After 13 years of trials, sorrows, pain, tears, heartache etc., he was elevated as a ruler of Egypt. He was made second in command to the entire of Egypt-next only to Pharaoh.

God was at work in every detail of the life of Joseph.

The circumstances seem to look unfavorable to us for the fulfillment of the plan of God in our life. But nothing or nobody can hinder the working out of the plan of God in our life! He works out his plan in the life of His children by perfectly engineering the circumstances. God is in control of the circumstances. He is sovereign. He is on the throne. He will do what He has planned. Job has said, “I know that you can do all things; no purpose of yours can be thwarted.” ~ Job 42:2

This spring break, keep your head high! Know that God loves you more than anything and everything He means for GOOD!


One comment on “You Meant it For Good

  1. Thanks for the post, Joseph’s story is a wonderful comparison of all believers B.C., it’s Jesus who broke the chains!

Leave a Reply

